SUBSCRIBE FOR EMAILS
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
ADDRESS

580-765-6782

2225 North Union
Ponca City, OK  74601

office@opcenterok.org

We are a non-profit 501(c)3 organization dedicated to the well-being of adults with developmental disabilities by providing vocational and residential services.  It is our endeavor to enrich the lives of our clients with a sense of independence and self-reliance while offering a safe and fun environment to live and work.

ABOUT US

© 2017 by OPPORTUNITY CENTER, INC. Proudly created with Wix.com

ABOUT US

Who we are.

 

 

 

LAYING A FOUNDATION

In 1960, concerned friends and families of the developmentally disabled in Kay County wanted for their children exactly what everyone wants for children - the ability to grow up, to be successful, and to “live life to the fullest.” Using preferred education models for the developmentally disabled, these family members and community leaders began a school dedicated to the developmentally disabled children in Kay County reaching their potential. The children grew and flourished.  When education models changed nationally, the organization adapted and continued to serve the disabled with additional programs and services. In 1983, the organization expanded the mission to include residential programs and enhanced the existing vocational programs.

Today, the Center has over 50 individuals working in a workshop, group employment, or employment consulting. About one third of these individuals participate in the residential program. They live in group homes, community living homes, or in the community group homes.

 

OUR MISSION

Empowering exceptional citizens and their families.

GOVERNANCE

The Opportunity Center Board of Directors governs the Opportunity Center programs. The Board oversees both the vocational and the residential programs available to those with developmental disabilities in Kay County. Meeting monthly, policies governing the programs are reviewed ensuring the best possible programs are offered to the clients.  This board also operates one of our two thrift shops in Kay County.

The Kay County Council for the Opportunity Center owns and governs the property utilized by the Opportunity Center. The Council is also the fund-raising and marketing arm of the Opportunity Center. The Council holds an Annual Membership Drive to support the property and hosts the, “Princess for a Night” Father-Daughter Dance fund-raising event for capital projects. The Council also operates one of our two thrift shops in Kay County.

The Opportunity Center Foundation Board of Directors oversees the perpetual funding stream, The Opportunity Center Foundation. Established in 1963 the Foundation provides annual operation monies to the Center. The Cherokee Strip Golf Classic, memorials, and estate gifts provide financial support to the Foundation.

OUR MANAGEMENT TEAM

Julie Grigsba, Executive Director | jgrigsba@opcenterok.org

Rob Bays, Director of Buildings & Grounds | rbays@opcenterok.org

Robert Bodick, Director of Retail Operations | rbodick@opcenterok.org

Tanya Burch, Whimsy Manager | tburch@opcenterok.org

Cortney Burns, Village Screenprint  Manager| cburns@opcenterok.org

Dawn Janda, Director of Development | djanda@opcenterok.org

Jennifer Johnson, Director of Administration | jjohnsons@opcenterok.org

Kelly Marshall, Director of Programs & Services | kmarshall@opcenterok.org